Community Colleges accounting CPA want to be wealthy

I graduated in 07, but have decided to change my career to accounting.  I'm 26.  Too late?  

For the CPA I need:

24 semester units (36 quarter units) of accounting

24 business units (36 quarter)

150 total units (225 quarter units).  

Currently, I have enough business units, 16 quarter units of accounting and 183 total quarter units.  So, I need 20 more quarter units (14 semester units) of accounting classes and 42 quarter units (20 semester units) of anything classes.

I'd like to get started on this and it looks like taking distance classes through California Community Colleges is acceptable.  Depending on the system (quarter vs. semester) I need approximately 10 classes (4 quarter units per class).  Any other suggestions?  I'd like to do it as cost and time effectively as possible. 

I am currently paying off student loans and teaching abroad.  Is it pointless to do all this before getting some experience working in accounting first?  Would it make sense to take the CPA test before I am employed at an accounting firm?  NT CPA's any general advice?

For anyone wanting to keep up with this thread for the info, I'll update it as I find out more and chart my progress.  I know other NTers are trying to get ahead too.  

Edit: As promised I'll update this post.

I'm about 3/5th of the way through my MACC program.  I've worked quite hard not to repeat any nonsense from my undergrad (in terms of grades).  As such, I'm sitting pretty with a 3.9 right now.  I'm very proud of this. Feels nice to see the daily 6+ hours of studying paid off.  Additionally, I've really liked my classes and learned a lot. I finally know what people actually do that are accountants. My original post makes me laugh a little bit. I'm not money crazed at all. I just want a career with broad opportunities in every state, every industry, that has progression for hard work and intelligence.