Nikon S550 vs Canon SD1100? Which is better?

what would you guys recommend for just an amateur person who every now and then just wants to snap a couple pictures? I just want something that will take agood picture because i really don't have the skills.

get the canon...i have sd1000 and i love it, it takes great pictures. so im guessing the sd1100 should be much better.

how much are these anyways .. Im new to photography and I was looking for a good 10-12MP digital Cam ...

neither........ the 870 that just dropped is the *+@$ the 1000+ models are cool, but theres MUCH better for not much more the 750 is still *+@$ sick, now itsas cheap as $200 at bestbuy, the 850 is better at $250 and the new 870 is dope as hell at about $280 or 300

i'm looking for a camera that will take really good high quality pics. probably looking for a 10-12mp digi cam (price range 200-400).

i've been looking at the canon powershot sd950 is. anyone have that? any good?

41O582sxg6L._AA280_.jpg

The canon powershot 950 IS.

what do you guys suggest? or will a camera with lower mp do the job?

Picture quality doesn't depend on how high the mega pixels are. But if you want the best mp, get Canon 1Ds mark III 21.1 MP.
happy.gif

^^ LMAO ... I just asked how much where they .. I know I went this weekend to see some camaras but they are the ones that have replaceble lens and flash ..they started like 550 .. thats why I was asking if these were like that ..

Out of the two your looking at, the sd1100. It even has the IS on that particular camera.

Picture quality depends on the settings of the camera. I mean, if you're only posting pics on NT and other internet sites, you could use a 1 megapixelsetting and have them turn out great; not so much when you're cropping/editing/enlarging.

Depends on what kind of picture your taking.