Any of you guys actually work in the music industry?

Please don't say "I rap" or "make beats". I'm talking about dudes that are actually doing this as a career (A&Rs, Managers,Publishers, Songwriters, Live performers, lawyers)

Originally Posted by iHateTimeDotCom

Originally Posted by HarlemToTheBronx

illphillip is...
Didn't dude have something to do with Illmatic or Reasonable Doubt?
i used to think illionaire was in the industry then i found out he's just a blogger
laugh.gif
(no shots)... he is pretty cool as long as u dont debate music with him
roll.gif

*Delonte West's shotgun has been pulled out of the guitar case*

Originally Posted by The Fresh King

illphillip is...
i used to think illionaire was in the industry then i found out he's just a blogger
laugh.gif
roll.gif

laugh.gif
laugh.gif
laugh.gif
laugh.gif

Originally Posted by The Fresh King

illphillip is...
laugh.gif
roll.gif

eek.gif
laugh.gif
roll.gif
laugh.gif
smh.gif

Nah I was just wondering because I'm a sophomore in college right now studying Music Industry. I like college and all but its so often I see ppl doing itat such a young age without school. My cousin just graduated with a music industry degree, an internship at MTV and still can't get a job. I just somewanted some advice from those on the business side of things.
Originally Posted by blackmagnus514

What do you wanna know?

I read you're blog sometimes, good stuff. What exactly do you do?

Seriously....the business is about who you know sometimes. School helps but I know people doing digital marketing, etc @ labels without a degree. I also knowsomeone with a degree in Social Work (or w/e it is) doing A&R...so it's a toss up...