Friend is rethinking our friendship over for my lack of effort vol. Am i wrong though?

quick answer: i know i'm not.

sup nt, this is my first time ever making a topic in the general thread about anything. i usually don't put my biz out in public but i just wanted some outside opinions. and i understand if there are posts that say tl;dr lol i'm the same way.

about 2 months ago, my friend of nearly 10 years tells me her father's been diagnosed with very stage of terminal cancer. her father is the only parent she has left and i couldn't even imagine how that must've felt because i'm fortunate enough to still have both of mine. at the time her father was still in the hospital and was waiting to be cleared to go home. i checked up on her from time to time via internet since we rarely see each other but still keep in touch every now and then. when her father was cleared to come back home maybe a week later, we kinda lost contact with one another. i had started a new job, was busy on weekends with team practices, and getting myself ready for a week-long trip outside the country with my team. being in a different country altogether, i left my phone at home since roaming charges would've killed me, and i had very limited access to the internet; i was disconnected from the world. it was only on the very last day that i checked my email on my itouch in the morning and got an email from my friend saying her father had passed away.