Going to San Francisco. Suggestions, tips, etc?

I'm going to SF at the end of this month for 5 days (Saturday-Wednesday). Only plan is to visit and stay a night in Napa Valley but I just wanted to ask NT for suggestions since this is my first time there.

Places to visit?
Must eat restaurants (and should we get reservations now)?
Nightlife?
Where to stay (fisherman wharf area)?
Suggestions for Napa?

And any other ideas or tips you may have. Also, I heard SF public transportation is pretty good, I only plan to get a car for the trip to Napa but will I need it at all to enjoy SF?

Thanks brahs.

BART is good if you're just looking for touristy spots. Otherwise, I'd suggest getting Uber/Lyft on your phone. A little more expensive but takes you exactly where you need to go while being cheaper than cabs.

If you're on a budget and decide to book a hotel outside of the city, park your car at the Best Buy on Harrison for free parking and take Uber/Lyft from there. Looks like a shady area but it isn't (lots of startups nearby)

Don't stay in the Fisherman's Wharf area. Other than the typical tourist trap of Pier 39, there's not much to do around there. If you want to go clubbing, stay around Union Square. More expensive but extremely convenient. When I had a group of 10+ people visiting, we stayed at the Intercontinental so my small apartment wouldn't get trashed. There are a bunch of clubs within a 10 minute walking distance, Target is a block away, plenty of places to eat, short walk from BART and all the shops, etc

Must eat restaurants...this depends on your budget. If you want to get a little sightseeing & eating done at the same time, book a table at Epic Roasthouse. It has views of the Bay Bridge, which is pretty cool at night because of the lighting/light shows

Last edited:
If you're going into the city, I suggest a bar called Elbo (Elbow?) Room.  Pretty sweet bar for locals, located in the Mission.