NikeTalk school me on career schools vol. good choice or a regret?

Mokorider

formerly nosepiker
So I've been attending community college for the past two years and I'm no where near halfway through in getting out of there. If it matters I was aiming for forensics and I only completed the general ed classes to start off the core classes. I ended the spring semester and decided to not attend the summer with the amount of classes being cut and spaces filling up. Current dilemma I'm facing now is that I'm stuck working full-time in order to support some household and my own expenses and only taking 2-3 classes tops, I feel like it isn't taking me anywhere.

I recently started looking into the career schools to begin working into something better than where I'm currently at but, after searching the expense to attend this schools is pretty high compared to community college. I'm aware that they don't start you off at a job nor do they find you one, but having some experience in something is better than nothing, am I right?

So far I've looked into Wyotech for Automotive Technology (since I see cars more of an interest), but $25k would consist of loans and not including the interest..

Anyone care to chime in with mature personal experiences or opinions?

It all depends on why it has taken you 2 years to get halfway done. If it has been due to work circumstances, then it's a pretty good option that will work around your schedule. Most CC's now offer online classes so you can participate in the discussions when you're not working and you can attend almost any CC in your state and get the same credits. You can also use that time that you're finishing your degree at the CC to save up the money necessary to prevent yourself from needing to take out loans.

...wow. props for being honest, but prepare for an abundance of smart %#! comments from snobby NTers about your CC struggles.