NT Homeowners and Future Homeowners Thread

At some point in life the allure of home ownership engulfs most of us and the pursuit to own a property becomes a goal that we work towards. This has been something that I have been working on for almost 2 years and I wanted to share the helpful information I have received during my journey.

Before I started seriously pursuing home ownership I was informed of a program called NACA which is a nonprofit where you go through mortgage counseling and you are assigned a realtor. They work with you through the whole process for free and on top of that they pay your closing costs, no down payment and no PMI (PMI is mortgage insurance that you pay whenever you buy a house and put less than 20% down)

I went to one of their workshops and ultimately started the program. After the workshop you get assigned a mortgage counselor and have an intake appointment. At this appointment you bring all of your financial information, work info, most recent tax info + any other vital information. From there you select a mortgage amount that you are comfortable paying per month and if your finances are in order you need to show that you can save that selected mortgage amount for 3 months. If you live in an apartment you would only need to save the difference between what you pay in rent and what you would want your mortgage to be. So at the end of these 3 months you become qualified and you can start looking at houses with your realtor. From here on the process becomes pretty typical, you find a house, put in an offer and close. No down payment, no closing costs and if the seller offers closing assistance then you can use that to buy down your interest rate. That is the program in a nutshell.