Recent college grad salary thread. Vol. "How am I supposed to eat off that?"

I just received my BBA with a concentration in Management. Been searching for jobs for a minute and it seems as if the going salary for anything I'm qualified for is 26-31K or 12-15/hourly. I live in the DC metro area btw

I'm really trying to find out if companies are low-balling and what really is the average salary for somebody fresh out of school.

All majors welcomed to chime in.

Thanks

I majored in Environmental & Occupational Health. First job was landed within days of looking. It wasn't a 9-5 deal, I worked at all shifts. The firm was a catering company based on the airport for a lot of the airlines. I was hungry and loved working odd hours. Pay was around $50k/year. I was the lowest out of all my friends. My friends were getting around 55-65k on their first jobs.

I dealt with keeping the firm in tune with codes from regulatory bodies such as OSHA in addition to keeping the workplace safe.

This was in 2010. I stayed there for 15 months and left for a job that paid me ~30% more.

Last edited:
i remember sales job with unrealistic goals. didn't take me long to leave the job.
the salary was 30k w/compensation. pretty much had to work 10+ hrs with some weekends.
if you break it down it's like 11/hr. that's practically min. wage.
needless to say, high turnover.
this is in SF, definitely, barely living wage.

Last edited:
damn 30k? i thought it was expensive to live in DC. i'm from the bay area, 30k will have you living at the crib with your folks for years to come. 

i always tell my younger cousins and friends to try their hardest to get internships while in school if they have time for it. i lucked out and i know it helped me earn more right out of college. in fact the dude that got hired with me was making like 5-7k less than i was for basically the same job, because he had no prior experience.