Tax Question

So, I made about $51,000 and I got taxed $11,000. I have two jobs and I am listed as Single-1. I am also a grad student so I was able to get the tax credit. I did my taxes today, but I am not getting one cent back. Does that sound legit to you guys? I live in NY and I am not head of household.

So, I made about $51,000 and I got taxed $11,000. I have two jobs and I am listed as Single-1. I am also a grad student so I was able to get the tax credit. I did my taxes today, but I am not getting one cent back. Does that sound legit to you guys? I live in NY and I am not head of household.

YAY, tax season is here!

Let's examine what you said for a little more detail. "i got taxed $11,000" What do you mean by this? As a resident of NY, you will be subject to Federal taxes and NY State taxes. So where does the $11,000 figure come from? Have you received your W-2 yet? if so, what are the breakdowns for state and federal withholding?

Barring any other details which you likely would have mentioned already, can you tell us whether you itemize your deductions or just take the standard deduction?

Single with no dependents and standard deduction earning $51,000 would owe APPROXIMATELY $6631 of Federal Income taxes, NY State income tax of $2587, and NY city income tax of $1527 (If you're a resident of NYC proper).

That's a total of $10745.

Let me know if you have further questions.

Income
$51,176.66

$5,342.45-Federal

$2,149.42- SS

$742.06 -Medicare

$1,814.28 NYS Income tax

$1,150.99- NYC Income tax

Last edited: