Tips for High School Football?

I'm in 8th grade right now and next I plan to try out for my high school's football team. I'm 6'0, 205lbs. I can catch and throw pretty good,strength and endurance I can improve on during the summer. Any pointers on how to impress the coaches? Summer conditioning starts in august so I plan to showup for them just so to be recognized. I would like to play linebacker or maybe running back but I don't know, most likely as a freshman I'll play forthe JV team.

freshman 6' 205 damn I wish I had those measurables at 14 yrs old.

get quick.
listen and learn and play instinctively.
mostly, go all out, be that guy no one wants to line up against. even if they call u "hero" and damn why u goin all out. Do it. it will make u betterand people will eventually follow.

How good is the high school team that you're going to?

well if your 6'0'' 205 and could catch and throw good, i'm sure your coaches are all gonna have their eyes on you. one thing you want to do isknow what you want to play. you dont' want to be one of those guys whose a backup for every position just because you don't know what you want toplay. I see that happen alot.

one more thing is that just work hard and coaches will notice you and like you much more. when i came in my freshmen year, i was 5'1'', 160 andcould catch really good but i was a little on the slow side. so i ended up just being a line men. but everyone i went up against was about you height and ijust worked real hard and i was a practice star in the summer and when the pads came one, i impressed the coaches alot and i got to start over all the biggerdudes and i never looked back. so just work hard, don't be late, and coaches will notice you.

i was back-to-back linemen of the year by the end of my senior year and i'm only 5'2'' 195... so if i could do it, you should have a problem!good luck