It blows my mind how.....Vol. Finances (yes, another thread about money)

Some people in their early to mid 20's (maybe even late 20's) can have a such a substantial amount of money saved, or put to the side to invest in freely.

I understand a lot of people don't have those extra funds, but reading some of these recent finance related threads on NT, I see some cats 24, 25, 26 etc. with serious bread saved.

I graduated college at the age of 21, and just turned 24 last week. With taking a year off inbetween going back for my Master's, I have 1 year left before I'm done for good. Going to college (for the most part) prevents you from working enough to really make money, and you're more than likely racking up loans too.

I spent a lot of my money on bs late in my high school career and during undergrad (not like I was making much anyway). But even if I would have been more fiscally responsible from early on, there's no way I could have approached such a high level of savings like I see some people with.

I'm now selling most of my collection to get some of that back and help towards a downpayment on a home but....

My question is, those WITH a substantial amount of savings around my age, how did you get to that level?

Was it as simple as working hard, all the time, and putting some to the side every chance you got? Was there some sort of small, inital investment that turned out to be very rewarding? Or did you land some sort of inheritance or gift from your parents? (I'm being partially serious with that last one).
Did you work full time and still live at home with your parents before moving, allowing you to save quicker? Just curious as to the different scenarios people have faced...

what amounts are we talking about?
i got some jewish friends that got a lot of $ from their barmistvah (sp?)

one dude got 22k and this was in high school
eek.gif

Absolutely agree that living within your means is crucial.