HBCUs... Anybody ever attended/attending one?

what are they like?

i used to live in Houston, but i RARELY visited TSU...

and all thru college, i've went to majority white/mexican colleges.

soooooo....

what's it like?

i mihgt be hittin one up next fall. my ace goes there, and we're both going to be hoopin for the team.

he's an alpha, too. i know that matters in those HBCUs, right?

just wondering....

lemme know somethin, fambs.

pimp.gif
pimp.gif

Originally Posted by Cobra Kai

hbcu's are cool i guess, i wouldn't attend one.

i'm black and an alpha.

i already got my business degree from TX A&M...

i'm just going here to get a second business degree, and get my MBA crackin...

and play my last year of college ball.

I graduated from Dillard University. If I had to do it again, I would of not attended a HBCU school. Unless it was like a graduate school (Medical, Law).

You're more likely to have a greater network at a diverse school.

hbcu's were created to employ people of color in agriculture and mechanical trades hence why most of them end with a&m. The working field has change and most colleges that have this format hold on to it because of tradition. We are largely a service based economy now. We don't build or farm anything. Until they change, they'll stay stuck in the past. I never went to an hbcu, but my fam did. There is a noticeable difference in the college experience. When you go there, feels like you stepped into the past compared to other colleges. It's like the difference between a high school in the hood and in an affluent tax rich neighborhood. People's priorities are totally different. From the students to the administration. From my experience, don't go to one if you don't have to...

Originally Posted by Wr