Music Industry : The Business Side Q&A

What's up NT?
Been a long time NT'r, kind of stepped away from following shoes fiendishly to pursue a career in music a couple years ago.  NT has always been a great resource for me when it came to stepping up my kick game, and I thought it'd only be appropriate to give back to the board.

I'm a music producer now, by no means am I at the top of the game, but I am established and experienced enough to help out those who may have any questions.   Whether you're enduring a career in the biz as a songwriter, producer, artist, or even as a manager, I'll do my best to help to assist you with any questions you might have.

I know from personal experience, that one of the most difficult things in this business is just getting some straight answers from people.  I don't have all the answers and NO I can't make you a star!  Just here to help!

- John 
wink.gif

Originally Posted by H TOWN HUSTLER

pimp.gif

What are some things beginner producers should avoid doing?
One of the most common things I think that hinders a lot of people starting out, is spending time being worried about getting their beats jacked and not getting a fair shake.  Let me reiterate this key point, DO NOT waste your time/energy worrying about that!
One of the keys to becoming good at anything, is to not be afraid to make mistakes.   And as unfortunate as that may sound, it is the only way you'll gain a sense of what to stand clear of.  

Keep everything simple and focus on the task at hand (perfecting your craft) and everything else will fall into place accordingly.  Work until every track of yours becomes a banger, then you'll never worry about a beat getting jacked, because you have a million more where those came from.