Anyone on NT into writing movie scripts?

iblink

Banned
I have great ideas that, if done right, would do well on the silver screen.

Thing is, all I've got is these ideas. I never took any courses in theater, scripts, etc. So I have little to no knowledge on what the next step is after coming up with these movie ideas. Spent my college years pursuing a pre law degree. I get that in May, and while I do still plan on going down that road, this is something I felt like I should at least attempt once in my life.

Occasionally. I never finish them though even when I know the ending. Then there's pull on if you're writing a movie script or a damn novel.

You could join a film school or program part time where they have classes and workshops that focus on screen writing, scripts, story boards, etc.

Last edited:
Say I have a script I believe to be pretty solid. How do I get it to Hollywood?

I wrote a script at 17 and I had a friend whose uncle was the producer of 90210. I sent him my screenplay and everything. It was a good experience at that age

I would like to do one for my bucket list (either a script or a book).

http://www.zoetrope.com/

http://www.imdb.com/name/nm2130654/bio

Last edited:
Do some research brah. Check your local Barnes and Noble for books on it. Hell, you can even google some scripts from movie/television shows. There are forums dedicated to this stuff. You're going to have to do more with an idea though. Everyone has them its how you execute them that makes them great/good. Line your ducks up before you go running for Hollywood. BoL.

Download Celtx, its a free script writing program. Its easy to use and it helps you to practice the format.

Download movie scripts, there easy to find online like Dave's Script o rama

Vale's Technique of Screen and Television writing is a great book and would help in learning the language and descriptive tone needed for screen writing.

Just finished Intro to Video Production