Being a white student at a HBCU - Vice Special

Went to Morehouse. The few white dudes that went there were always cool, they asked them all the same questions. There was always animosity towards them too and it was unfair. Nothing was worse than when the white guy won valedictorian. Dudes were outraged... FOR WHAT? The guy put in the work and earned it. Zero looking in the mirror that year. I have no doubt in my mind people are mad at this guy being the President of Graves Hall, yet... he won via vote.

I get the racial component of it and respect it though.

Morehouse shouldnt cost as much as it does. That is the problem. Morehouse is like 50 grand now all in per annum (on paper its 45k, its probably closer to 50). FOR WHAT. When I graduated I had boys who were on the hook for 160k..... Nah man that is ridiculous I am sorry. This applies to the majority of colleges, but its amplified when you're marketing to a demographic where a great deal of them can't afford the school.

In 2018 I'm likely not walking up to Morehouse and saying I'm about to pay 200k to go there.

Last edited:
I respect the frustration of some of those young black cats in the auditorium. The point that a seat which would have traditionally been offered to a black student (who could be thought of as one seeking a place of inclusion, or a safe haven for his thoughts and ideas amongst people of a presumed shared background) is now being offered to a white student, especially a white male (who could be assumed to have a greater capability of finding a safe haven on practically any other college campus in the US), does warrant some criticism, or skepticism at the very least.