How many of y'all have to put on a suit for work? vol. Cube life

So how many of y'all have to put on a full suit and tie for work?

I'm asking because I've noticed it's been a real shift (at least around DC) to business casual everyday or even "casual everydays" at some gov't departments and contractors.

suits are archaic. the whole corporate culture is archaic, especially with the rise of remote working. professionalism isn't a look, its the quality of the job you do. if people want to wear them when its not really necessary anymore more power to them.

the most business formal area in DC is the hill. you have to wear at least a blazer and neck wear when sessional votes occur. then k street firms, since they are usually up on the hill meeting with staffers/politicians. im so glad to be away from there.

now im an editor in Bethesda and im strictly casual. its great compared to my old offices now its jeans, sneaks, and sometimes t shirts if its too hot

Last edited:
I work in DC and I don't wear a suit daily per say, but a tucked in dress shirt/sweater, slacks and loafers is standard attire. Business casual basically, not uncommon to see ties. The higher-ups are still very suit-oriented and we have casual friday's occasionally but anything beyond new balances or a high end casual shoe may get you harsh looks. These yuppies take appearance seriously in the district.

I work at NASA in greenbelt....relaxed business casual lol. I can wear jeans every day. I wear khakis most of the week with a button down or polo....untucked.

Friday i wear jeans...just because it puts me in a more relaxed mindset.

I want to wear a suit
embarassed.gif

No Job
frown.gif

I sell Health Insurance for Anthem Blue Cross, business casual while im here in the building, but shirt and tie while im out in sales meetings. Once in a while i have to go all out in a suit.

These yuppies take appearance seriously in the district.